Dr. D’s Blog

Introduction and Background on Medical Abortion

Posted on: May 4, 2009

For those who might be interested, I am writing on my observations on medical abortion from a physician’s viewpoint.  I myself had to undergo a transition period before I became comfortable with medical abortions.  Over ten years ago, just as medical abortions were being introduced in the United States, and after several patients had requested this approach, I decided to seriously consider this option for early abortions for my patients.

As an abortion provider in my fifties who had been trained that spontaneous abortions should always be completed by D&C to assure no remaining tissue was left in the uterus to serve as a source of bleeding and/or infection, it took a drastic change in philosophy to then turn around to assist to medically induce a miscarriage with no intention to complete it by D&C.  The knowledge that estimates of up to a quarter to a third of all pregnancies end in early spontaneous miscarriages often perceived as late menstrual periods, and hardly ever requiring a D&C, helped me accept the concept of medically inducing a miscarriage.

I was also motivated to seriously consider this option for my patients by the positive feedback I was hearing from other abortion providers who were performing medical abortions, and from patients who had experienced them.

More to this story in an few days. Thank you for reading this post.

Dr. D

For more information you can go here: www.sjwc.net

2 Responses to "Introduction and Background on Medical Abortion"

Dr. Dee,

I have been searching all over for a blog on abortion, but only from the medical perspective and that is written by a doctor that is in the business. I look forward to more of your posts on the subject of abortion.

Nancy W

Dr. D,

Thank you. Good insight.

Med Student

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Mignon C: Dr. D, Thank you. Good insight. Med Student
  • Interested Citizen: Dr. Dee, I have been searching all over for a blog on abortion, but only from the medical perspective and that is written by a doctor that is in th

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

